Pre-radiation update

Hello,
I pray you are all doing well.  It got cold fast – wow!

Many of you have dropped a line checking in on us and where we are with things.  First, I want to say thank you for continuing to keep us in our prayers – we are so blessed to be surrounded by all of you.

As for my cancer, that still sounds so weird to say, I begin radiation next week.  We met with the radiologist today and he said that I will have 10-15 minutes of radiation on weekdays for the next six and a half weeks.  The good news is this process is pretty painless.  The radiation will be focused in on the area between my knee and ankle to ensure that all of the cancer cells are gone.  We thought the duration of radiation would be shorter, but it is better to take our time and not rush the process.  This is more due to the type of tumor and wanting to make sure all of the cancerous cells are gone.  Tomorrow I will be fitted for mold to hold my leg and next Tuesday we will begin the actual radiation.    As it stands – we are in that 95% cure rate.

As for my ankle and foot, I am regaining some mobility.  I am still unable to drive.  There are parts of my foot that I cannot feel and I am still unable to pull up my toes. I can curl down, but not up.  The physical therapist has been encouraged with my progress, but she thinks my PT may run into December, again, longer than we had thought, but we are still hoping to regain a lot of mobility.

The interesting thing is my scar, it is 9 inches long and scar tissue is forming beneath the surface.  My new PT homework is to gently massage the scar so it stays ‘loose’.  Men, you can relate to this: how many of you have stuck your finger in an electrical socket, or licked the top of a 9-volt to see if it still carries a charge.  Well, that is the equivalent of what this feels like.  When I massage the scar tissue, my whole foot and leg jump – all those nerves are firing.  So that is a good sign, but honestly, not a joyful feeling.  I am doing PT three times a week, and making progress.

Kristin and I want to thank you again for your prayers.  We really appreciate having you with us on our journey.  I look forward to seeing many of you in the coming weeks.

God bless,
John and Kristin

2 thoughts on “Pre-radiation update

  1. Good luck with your radiation treatments. I’m sure you’ll do great because you have a positive outlook. Even though I don’t know you and haven’t read your blog before, you’ll be in my prayers.

  2. John and Kristin,
    You are my prayers and in the prayers of Bethany Covenant Church. May God strengthen you and give you peace each day of this journey.

Leave a Reply

