what a difference a year makes

882986_515422718499437_521291357_o-Blog1Another school year has ended. As the semester winds down, I wanted to take a moment to share how the Lord is working in the life of a Cru student at Michigan State. Truly, the decisions students make in college really do impact the rest of their lives!

In Megan’s own words, a snapshot of her year…

“When I came to Michigan State my freshman year, I joined a Cru Life Group (Dorm Bible Study), and began to observe and admire all those women who were on fire for Jesus and wanted to live for Him. I wanted that. Although I may have grown up in a Christian home, I had never really had the opportunity to experience community, worship, or Bible Study with people my own age. This was something so radically different for me. For the first time I wanted desperately to grow in my relationship with God, because such a great community surrounded me.

“Soon after, I joined a discipleship group where I had the opportunity to talk with other students about the Gospel. Growing up, I thought my faith was something I should keep to myself so I was not sure how I felt about initiating conversations with peers about their views of Jesus. God was working in my heart though. Last spring, God pushed me to go to Big Break in Panama City Beach, where I learned how to more effectively share the Gospel and the need for people to hear how they can have a personal relationship with Jesus. I can say that because of going to Big Break I now am so much more confident in sharing my faith with others. My whole view of evangelism was flipped upside down. Whereas before,I saw it as something only really radical Christians would do, I see it so much differently now. I don’t just want to live for the Lord, I want to share the love of Jesus with others.

“This year I have been blessed with the opportunity to lead a discipleship group with a few freshmen girls. It has been one of the coolest experiences I’ve had. Not only am I growing as a disciple of Christ, but I can also participate in making disciples. Sometimes I still get nervous when sharing my faith, and my sinful nature wants to convince me to just stay at home instead of going out into the dorms to talk to people, but then I’m reminded of the urgency of the gospel. I’m so excited to grow with Him more and to make disciples wherever He leads me.”

Megan’s growth started with a willingness to take one step, and then another, and another… And in doing so, God has blessed her and used her life to impact others. Thank you for your partnership in reaching and equipping the next generation of leaders like Megan!

Leave a Reply

